Technology and Women 

Our world is constantly developing with technology. Peoples lives are being saved because doctors can now print 3D organs, businesses are able to set up a page on Facebook with a few simple clicks, politicians can tweet during a live debate in the House of Commons, the list is never ending. I myself am a lover of technology, I love to be able to see how something functions, even if it’s just a switch.

However, I remember a situation that personally happened to me a couple of years ago. I was in physics class and we were working out how to turn on a light bulb. The first one to do it would get a pack of sweets, which obviously, my 13 year old self was driven by. The teacher handed out the equipment and set the timer, following the basic instructions, I was able to construct a functioning light bulb. Shooting my hand straight in the air and saying I did it, the whole class stopped and looked. The boy sitting next to me said ‘wow that’s surprising, didn’t think the girls were any competition with this kind of thing.’

Straight away I remember feeling confused to why he said that. However, as I’ve grown up, I’ve come to realise that the techno world is very male based. Here are some examples:

1. Steve Jobs, creator of Apple


2. Bill Gates, creator of Microsoft


3. Mark Zuckerberg, creator of Facebook

Do not get me wrong, these men are inspiring to many, including me. Although, it would appeal to me more if I saw a female face in one of these pictures. In a hundred years time, I do not want people still thinking that only men changed the world of technology. I want people to see the rise in women empowerment and I want them to know that we are just as clever. It is not a ‘mans job’, it is anyone’s job who has a go. Technology is changing rapidly, it was only 10 years ago that we didn’t even have iPhones! So why can’t the role of women change drastically too? Women have the right to do any job, just as a man has the right to also do any job. Lets try to change this!

Women-in-Tech.jpg

Leave a Reply

